Dandruff Shampoo: Six Actives, a Rotation, and the Minutes No Label Prints
A dandruff shampoo is one of six actives. The AAD says to rotate them, leave some on for minutes, and set the frequency by hair texture. The labels say less.
Iris Vance writes as a researcher, not a dermatologist or licensed esthetician. Nothing here diagnoses or treats. How we work.

The products read on this page
Some picks below are affiliate links. If you buy through one, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. It never affects our findings.
1
Nizoral Anti-Dandruff Shampoo, 1% KetoconazoleThe antifungal on the AAD's list; the only label here with a stop date
- Drug Facts: ketoconazole 1%, anti-dandruff shampoo; label schedule every 3 to 4 days for up to 8 weeks, then as needed
- No contact time on the label; the AAD says some dandruff shampoos need up to 5 to 10 minutes on the scalp
- Label: stop and ask a doctor if no improvement in 2 to 4 weeks; do not use on a scalp that is broken or inflamed
- Label reading only; not used by the author
2
Head & Shoulders Classic Clean, 1% Pyrithione ZincThe zinc active, on a label written for every-wash use
- Drug Facts: pyrithione zinc 1%; label schedule at least twice a week, or every time you shampoo for maximum control
- No contact time on the label: wet hair, massage onto scalp, rinse
- Inactive list includes fragrance and cocamidopropyl betaine, both named on this site's sensitive-skin page
- Label reading only; not used by the author
3
Selsun Blue Medicated, 1% Selenium SulfideThe selenium sulfide active; the Medicated line, not the Naturals or Itchy Dry Scalp lines, which use other actives
- Drug Facts: selenium sulfide 1%; label schedule at least twice a week
- No contact time on the label: shake, wet hair, massage onto scalp, rinse
- Inactive list includes fragrance, cocamidopropyl betaine and cocamide DEA, all named on this site's sensitive-skin page
- Label reading only; not used by the author
Dandruff Shampoo: Six Actives, a Rotation, and the Minutes No Label Prints
A row of dandruff shampoos on a shelf reads as a row of competitors, each bottle the answer. The American Academy of Dermatology's page on treating dandruff reads the same row differently: six active ingredients, any of which may work, and an instruction to switch to another if the first one stops. It also gives two things the bottles do not. A contact time, up to five to ten minutes on the scalp for some shampoos, which none of the three Drug Facts labels read for this page prints. And a frequency that depends on hair texture rather than on the brand, with a scalp-only rule for curly and coily hair. A dandruff shampoo is one of six actives; the schedule is the decision.
Six actives, and the instruction to rotate
The AAD's page starts lower than the shelf does: You can usually treat mild dandruff at home by regularly washing your hair. If that fails, the next step is a medicated shampoo, and the AAD's list of what counts is Zinc pyrithione; salicylic acid; sulfur; selenium sulfide; ketoconazole; and coal tar shampoo. Six, each a different mechanism, and the AAD does not rank them.
What it does say is what to do when one stops working, and it is the sentence the shelf omits: If one shampoo doesn't work, try alternating between dandruff shampoos with different active ingredients. Ketoconazole vs zinc pyrithione is therefore not a question with a winner on the AAD's page; the two are on the same list, and the plan is to move between them rather than to choose once.
The three labels on this page carry three of the six: ketoconazole 1%, pyrithione zinc 1%, and selenium sulfide 1%, one bottle each. Salicylic acid, sulfur and coal tar exist on the shelf too, and no label for them was read, so none is named here.
The minutes, and the schedule by hair type
The AAD's instruction is to follow the bottle, and then it adds something the bottles do not say: You may also need to allow some dandruff shampoos to sit on your scalp for up to 5-10 minutes before rinsing.
None of the three labels read for this page gives a contact time. Nizoral's directions are wet, lather, rinse; Head & Shoulders' are wet hair, massage onto scalp, rinse, repeat if desired; Selsun Blue's are Shake well. Wet hair, massage onto scalp, rinse. Repeat if desired. For best results, use at least twice a week or as directed by a doctor. The word "minute" does not appear on any of the three. How long to leave dandruff shampoo on is a question the AAD answers with a range and the labels do not answer at all, which is the same shape as the back acne wash, where the AAD's minutes exceed the label's.
The frequency is where the AAD's page does its most useful work, because it splits by hair rather than by brand. For one kind of head: If you have fine or naturally straight hair, or an oily scalp, wash your hair often, and as an example, you may need to shampoo daily and use your dandruff shampoo twice a week. For the other: If you have coarse or naturally curly or coily hair, wash your hair when needed, and use your dandruff shampoo about once a week, if tolerated.
And for that second group, a placement rule with its reason: Take care to only apply the dandruff shampoo to your scalp if you have curly or coily hair, as the ingredients that treat dandruff can dry your hair. The AAD adds that normal shampoo and conditioner can follow the dandruff shampoo if the hair needs them. Dandruff shampoo for curly hair is the same bottle used differently: about once a week, on the scalp, not through the lengths.
The labels' own frequencies sit beside that. Nizoral: use every 3-4 days for up to 8 weeks or as directed by a doctor. Then use only as needed to control dandruff. Head & Shoulders: for best results use at least twice a week or as directed by a doctor. for maximum dandruff control, use every time you shampoo. Selsun Blue: at least twice a week, in the line above. Every one of those is written for a head of hair in general; the AAD's once-a-week for coarse, curly or coily hair is the adjustment the labels leave to you.
What it is, in DermNet's words
DermNet files dandruff under seborrheic dermatitis and draws the line between them in one sentence: dandruff, which it also calls pityriasis capitis, is an uninflamed form of seborrhoeic dermatitis on the scalp. Its description of how dandruff presents is diffuse, bran-like scaly patches in the hair-bearing scalp, without redness underneath. Uninflamed and without redness are the operative words, and they are what the next section turns on.
When it is not dandruff
Flakes with red skin under them are, on DermNet's definition, past the uninflamed form. The AAD makes the same handoff from the other direction. For most people, dandruff does not require medical attention, and when it does, the reason is what else it might be: Your dermatologist also knows whether your dandruff is a sign of a medical condition, such as seborrheic dermatitis, psoriasis, fungal infections of the scalp, or eczema.
Nothing on this page treats any of those four. The same pattern on the face, flaking in the eyebrows and the folds beside the nose with redness beneath, is the subject of oily but flaky skin, and a scalp that is red as well as flaky belongs with that page's conclusion rather than with a shelf.
Two of the three labels carry their own version of the boundary. Nizoral's warnings: Do not use on scalp that is broken or inflamed. All three say to stop and ask a doctor if the condition worsens or does not improve, and Nizoral puts a number on it, condition worsens or does not improve in 2-4 weeks.
Sun, and one more subtraction
One of the six actives has a sun rule: Some dandruff shampoos, such as those containing coal tar, can make your scalp more sensitive to the sun's harmful UV rays. The AAD adds that a sunburned scalp flakes more, so the protection is a hat, shade, and for thinning hair a powder or spray sunscreen on the scalp. No coal tar shampoo is on this page, since none of its labels was read; the rule is here because it is on the AAD's.
The subtraction is the one the AAD leads with: wash regularly. Mild dandruff is often a washing-frequency problem before it is a product problem, and the fine-or-oily schedule above, daily washing, is the AAD's first answer. One thing that quietly lowers washing frequency is dry shampoo, and the AAD's dermatologists put a cap on it for that reason; how to use dry shampoo has the cap and what they say happens past it. The other product that can end up on the scalp when it should not is leave-in conditioner, whose placement rule and build-up warning are in leave-in conditioner.
The three shampoos, by what the label says
The card near the top lists three shampoos, one per active, on the same six points: the active and strength from the Drug Facts panel, the label's schedule, whether the label states a contact time, the label's stop rule, which of this site's named irritants appear on the inactive list, and what was not checked.
Nizoral Anti-Dandruff Shampoo. Active: Ketoconazole 1% w/w, an antifungal. Schedule: every 3 to 4 days for up to 8 weeks, then as needed. Contact time: none stated. Stop rule: 2 to 4 weeks without improvement; not on broken or inflamed scalp. Irritants from this site's list: none of the three named ones on the portion of the label read. Not checked: scent, lather, price, whether it works on a person.
Head & Shoulders Classic Clean. Active: Pyrithione zinc 1%. Schedule: at least twice a week, or every wash. Contact time: none stated. Stop rule: if it worsens or does not improve after regular use as directed. Irritants: the inactive list begins water, sodium lauryl sulfate, sodium laureth sulfate, cocamidopropyl betaine, sodium xylenesulfonate, zinc carbonate, fragrance; cocamidopropyl betaine and fragrance are two of the names products for sensitive skin takes from DermNet, which matters only if your scalp or hairline reacts to them. Not checked: the same four.
Selsun Blue Medicated. Active: Selenium sulfide 1%. Schedule: at least twice a week. Contact time: none stated. Stop rule: as for Head & Shoulders. Irritants: the inactive list begins water, ammonium lauryl sulfate, ammonium laureth sulfate, cocamidopropyl betaine, magnesium aluminum silicate, fragrance, cocamide DEA; three of this site's named irritants in seven ingredients. The brand's Naturals and Itchy Dry Scalp lines use different actives and are not this product. Not checked: the same four.
Best dandruff shampoo is, on this page, answered by the AAD's list rather than by a pick: one of six actives, rotated if it stops working, used on the schedule for your hair.
When this is a dermatologist's question
At Nizoral's 2 to 4 weeks, or the AAD's "if it does not go away after following these tips", or if it is severe. If there is redness under the flakes, on DermNet's definition. If the scalp is broken or inflamed, on Nizoral's label. And if what looks like dandruff is on the face as well as the scalp, since the face pattern has its own page and its own boundary. A dermatologist's options, on the AAD's page, are stronger shampoo or medication, and the ability to tell dandruff from the four conditions it lists. When to see a dermatologist covers how to get there.
The AAD's page and the three labels, side by side
| Point | AAD | Nizoral | Head & Shoulders | Selsun Blue |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Active | Six listed, none ranked | Ketoconazole 1% | Pyrithione zinc 1% | Selenium sulfide 1% |
| If it stops working | Alternate actives | Ask a doctor at 2 to 4 weeks | Ask a doctor if no improvement | Ask a doctor if no improvement |
| Contact time | Up to 5 to 10 minutes for some | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Frequency | Twice a week (fine, straight, oily); about once a week (coarse, curly, coily) | Every 3 to 4 days, up to 8 weeks | At least twice a week, or every wash | At least twice a week |
| Where | Scalp only for curly or coily hair | Not stated | Onto scalp | Onto scalp |
FAQ
What is the best dandruff shampoo? The AAD lists six actives and ranks none: zinc pyrithione, salicylic acid, sulfur, selenium sulfide, ketoconazole, and coal tar. Its instruction is to alternate between them if one stops working.
How long should you leave dandruff shampoo on? The AAD says some need up to five to ten minutes on the scalp before rinsing. None of the three labels read here, Nizoral, Head & Shoulders or Selsun Blue, prints a contact time; their directions are wet, massage or lather, rinse. Follow the AAD's minutes if the shampoo tolerates it, and the label's stop rule if the scalp does not.
Which dandruff shampoo for curly hair? Any of the six, used the AAD's way for coarse, curly or coily hair: about once a week, if tolerated, applied to the scalp only, because the actives dry hair, with normal shampoo and conditioner after.
Ketoconazole vs zinc pyrithione: which is better? The AAD's page does not choose between them. Both are on its list, and the plan is rotation rather than a permanent pick.
Is it dandruff or seborrheic dermatitis? DermNet defines dandruff as the uninflamed form of seborrheic dermatitis: flakes without redness underneath. Redness under the flakes is the sign that moves the question to a dermatologist.
Does dandruff shampoo cure dandruff? The labels do not say cure. Nizoral's says control; Head & Shoulders' and Selsun Blue's say prevent recurrence; and the AAD's plan is ongoing, with a rotation when one active fades.
The row of bottles is one decision the AAD's page treats as small: any of six, and swap if it fades. The decisions it treats as large are the ones the row cannot show, how many minutes on the scalp, how many times a week for your hair, and whether the shampoo stays on the scalp or runs through the lengths. A dandruff shampoo used the AAD's way is chosen once, used on a schedule, and replaced by its neighbor the week it stops working.
Sources
- How to treat dandruff, American Academy of Dermatology, last updated December 2023
- Seborrheic dermatitis: Causes and treatment, DermNet
- Nizoral, ketoconazole 1%, Drug Facts, DailyMed, label effective September 2026
- Head and Shoulders Classic Clean, pyrithione zinc 1%, Drug Facts, DailyMed, label effective September 2026
- Selsun Blue, selenium sulfide 1%, Drug Facts, DailyMed, label effective February 2026